The Greig

In response to Stratford District Council’s decision at Cabinet on 27th November 2017 to terminate the leisure agreement with the Greig Trustees, Alcester Town Council resolved to form a working group to discuss future options for the Greig Site.

At the Town Council meeting on 9 January 2018, the formation of the Greig Working Group (GWG) was approved. The following Town Councillors were originally appointed to the GWG:

Cllr Yvette Morrison (former Mayor) Cllr Andrew Foster (current Mayor) Cllr Mike Gittus, Cllr Mark Cargill, Cllr Jim Kenyon, Cllr Clive Neal-Sturgess and Cllr Eric Payne.

Please see below for the terms of reference for the GWG:

ATC ToR The Greig Working Group

Statement from Alcester Town Council re The Greig 4 July 2018

Press statement from Alcester Town Council dated 18th January 2018

The Greig Centre has been approved by Stratford on Avon District Council as an Asset of Community Value and appears on their list.

Nominations for community assets can be made by Parish Councils or by defined groups with a connection with the community. Individuals cannot nominate community assets. If the nomination is accepted, the group will be given time to come up with a bid for the asset when it is sold. The bid may not necessarily be successful.

The Greig Centre- Asset of Community Value

The Greig Centre- Plan- Asset of Community Value

December 2019- Alcester Town Council is delighted to hear that Stratford District Council (SDC) has won its court case to recover the Greig site.

The Town Council has an excellent working relationship with SDC and looks forward to liaising with them on the refurbishment of the leisure centre which will provide long overdue improved facilities for Alcester.

The Council has drawn up a draft feasibility study to re-open the Greig Hall and plans to call a public meeting in the New Year to enlist the community’s support with this project.

Alcester Town Council is extremely grateful to the Friends of the Greig Hall, led by Mrs Sheilagh Goode, for steadfastly raising funds towards this project through its charity shop Home2Home.

The Mayor of Alcester, Cllr Gill Forman, said “I am delighted that this long running saga has finally reached a conclusion and would like to thank SDC for its commitment to securing the Greig site back into public ownership.  This is a fantastic early Christmas present for the people of Alcester.”

Joint statement from Alcester Town Council and Stratford on Avon District Council (7 October 2020)

Alcester Town Council and Stratford-on-Avon District Council are delighted to announce that they have reached agreement in principle for the Town Council to take a lease of the Hannah Susan Greig Memorial Hall in Alcester.  The Town Council has plans to reopen the building as a community hall and arts venue.

The Memorial Hall was transferred to the District Council along with the Greig Leisure Centre following the legal proceedings which concluded last year.

The Memorial Hall has been closed to the public since 2011 and it has been a long-term ambition of the Town Council to reopen it.

The Mayor of Alcester, Cllr Gill Forman said: “I am delighted that we have reached agreement with the District Council to take a lease of the Memorial Hall.  In its heyday, the Hall was the venue for dances, performances and wedding receptions and it holds a very special place in the heart of the residents of Alcester.

It is a real shame that the building has been closed and boarded up for so long but now is the time for its reinvention as an iconic venue. It will attract shows and exhibitions from far and wide and also be available for residents and groups to use for local functions.

The building is in a very sorry state and we have a great deal of work to do. I am confident, however, that with the support of our community, we can restore the Greig Hall to its proper place at the centre of community life in Alcester.”

Cllr Tony Jefferson, Leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council said: “This is great news for the residents of Alcester that we have been able to reach an agreement in principle for Alcester Town Council to take a lease of the Hannah Susan Greig Memorial Hall in Alcester.

The District Council’s Cabinet will now consider the agreement at its meeting in December as we need to follow due process.  But this is another important milestone that’s been reached.”

Other pages in this section